Driving Safety Course

Requirements to Take a Driving Safety Course

If you are charged with a traffic offense under the transportation code, you may request on or before the 15th calendar day from the date of offense, either at the clerk’s office or by mail, to take a driving safety course (DSC). At the time of the request you must do the following:
  • Plead guilty or no Contest
  • Present a valid Texas drivers license (DL) or permit; or present proof you are a member, or spouse or dependant child of a member of the United States military forces serving on active duty.
  • Present proof of financial responsibility (auto insurance) that shows policy limits or contains a statement that the coverage of the policy complies with the minimum amounts of motor vehicle liability insurance required by Chapter 601 of the Texas Transportation Code.
  • Pay the applicable State Costs, and Administrative Fee:  
    • $114.10 or $139.10 (if issued in a school zone) (All costs and fees are subject to change without notice)
  • Submit an affidavit that states "I am not taking a DSC or motorcycle operator training course, as applicable, and have not completed such course that is not shown on my driving record within the 12 months preceding the date of the alleged offense."


You are not eligible to request a DSC if you:
  • Have been charged with Speeding 25 mph or more over the posted speed limit
  • Have been charged with an offense in a Construction Zone with workers present
  • Have or held a Commercial Drivers License at the time of the alleged offense
Within 15 calendar days from the date of offense, mail in or bring in to the clerk's window the above stated 5 items, and upon approval, the court will grant you permission to take the course. If applying by mail, please wait until you have received permission from the court before you take the course. You will have 90 days in which to complete the course and obtain a certified copy of your driving record from Austin. Upon successful completion and returning of your documents to the court, your citation will be dismissed. Judgment will be deferred for 90 days to allow you time to complete the course and obtain a certified copy of your driving record from the Department of Public Safety in Austin. Both documents, the course completion certificate and the certified copy of your driving record,must be returned to the court on or before the 90th day to have your citation dismissed.

Where You Can Take a Driving Course

The court is not allowed to recommend a driving safety school. We refer you to the yellow pages of the telephone directory, under "Driving Instruction" and call a number listed. You need only ask if their school is an approved course for the dismissal of a traffic citation. Or you may visit the website for a school list on the TEA website.

Failure to Completea Driving Safety Course

If you fail to complete any one of the requirements by your due date, your case will be set for a show cause hearing. A letter will be mailed to the address on your citation. There are no resets for a show cause hearing except for an emergency that can be verified by a court supervisor. If you fail to appear at the hearing, judgment will be imposed with payment due immediately. If payment is not made immediately, nor a motion for new trial filed (see Chapter 30 of the Texas Government Code), a capias profine warrant will be issued with an additional $25 time payment fee and a $50 warrant fee added. You may waive your Hearing by signing the waiver on your show cause letter or by writing to the court to waive your show cause hearing, and pay the remaining balance of the fine. Make all payments payable to the City of Plano.


Please note that appropriate attire is required in the Court Room. No shorts of any kind are permitted.