Show All Answers
False alarms often cause unnecessary safety risks to emergency responders as well as citizens during a response. With the alarm companies, the user of the alarm system, and the Alarm Unit working together, we can significantly reduce the number of false alarms.
If your building has multiple suites leased out, typically the building manager will have a permit for the building’s fire alarm system and each tenant will be responsible for a permit if they choose to operate any additional alarm systems (e.g. burglar, panic, or robbery alarm systems).
Locations operating a smoke detector that is not connected to an alarm panel do not need a permit.
If your system is video surveillance only, a permit is necessary only if it is monitored by a monitoring company that will dispatch emergency services.
Operating an alarm without a valid permit will result in a $200.00 penalty.
The Alarms Unit offices out of the Plano Police Department Monday-Friday 8:00am - 5:00pm. The department is located at 909 14th Street, Plano, Texas 75074 on the corner of 14th Street and Avenue H.
An alternate location for payment drop-off only is at 7501-A Independence Parkway, Plano, TX 75025. The building is connected to the Davis Library and is open Monday-Friday 8:00am-5:00pm.
Plano Police DepartmentAttn: Alarm UnitPO Box 860358Plano, Texas 75086
By MailApplications can be printed and submitted via mail with a payment.
In PersonApplications can be accepted at the Plano Police Department during our office hours.
Click on “Manage Your Account” located on our website and enter the permit number in the “Account #” field. If you have never set up a password or need it reset, please call (972) 941-2426 or email us at email@example.com.
Payments can be made at the Plano Police Department during our office hours or dropped off at the substation on Independence.
It is recommended to mail your payment 3-4 business days prior to your expiration date to avoid late fees.
Changes can also be made by using the Cancel/Update Form. This form can be mailed, faxed, or emailed.
Permits cannot be transferred to different people or businesses.
If you ever need to re-activate your permit, you will keep your original permit number. Contact our office for assistance or send in a Cancel/Update Form with your original permit number on it.
Burglar Alarms Burglar alarms are counted by looking at the previous 12 months. Each permit will receive alarms 1-3 free. Anything greater than 3 alarms is considered excessive and will be charged as follows: 4th & 5th Alarm is $50.00 6th & 7th Alarm is $75.00 8 or more alarms are $100.00 each and the permit may be suspended.
Robbery Alarms Robbery alarms are counted by looking at the previous 12 months. Each permit will receive alarms 1-2 free. Any robbery alarm after 2 will be charged $200.00 each.
Panic Alarms Panic alarms are counted by looking at the previous 12 months. Each permit will receive alarms 1-2 free. Any panic alarm after 2 will be charged $75.00 each.
Fire Alarms Fire alarms are counted by looking at the previous 12 months. Each permit will receive alarms 1-2 free. Any fire alarm after 2 will be charged $200.00 each.
- Pets, rodents, or wildlife. - Improper monitoring or installation by the monitoring company. - Maintenance or testing by an alarm company. - Weather, unless physical damage was made to the location and evidence can be provided. - Mistakes by anyone authorized to be on the property. - Loose doors or windows that activate an alarm.