Emergency Preparedness for Healthcare Facilities

The Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Emergency Preparedness Rule went into effect on November 16, 2017. The rule consists of specific emergency preparedness requirements for healthcare providers participating in Medicare and Medicaid. The purpose of the rule is to increase patient safety during natural or man-made disasters or emergencies by planning using an integrated all-hazards approach. This also helps establish a more coordinated response within our community.

Helpful Links:

This rule effects the following provider types:

Inpatient Facilities
Critical Access Hospitals (CAHs)
Intermediate Care Facilities for Individuals with Intellectual Disabilities (ICF/IID)
Long Term Care (LTC)
  • Assisted Living
  • Nursing Homes
Psychiatric Residential Treatment Facilities (PRTFs)
Religious Nonmedical Health Care Institutions (RNHCIs)
Transplant Centers

Outpatient Facilities
Ambulatory Surgical Centers (ASCs)
Clinics, Rehabilitation Agencies, and Public Health Agencies as Providers of Outpatient Physical Therapy and Speech-Language Pathology Services
Community Mental Health Centers (CMHCs)
Comprehensive Outpatient Rehabilitation Facilities (CORFs)
End-Stage Renal Disease (ESRD) Facilities
Home Health Agencies (HHAs)
Organ Procurement Organizations (OPOs)
Programs of All Inclusive Care for the Elderly (PACE)
Rural Health Clinics (RHCs) and Federally Qualified Health Centers (FQHCs)

For additional assistance, contact our departmental liaison Lynn Hudson at 972-769-4792 or via email